top of page
sonyaenkelmann

Welcome! The whys and wherefores of Living with Parky's Blog



Just over 12 months ago my life took a swerve. I don't know if it was to the left

or right but it was a swerve nonetheless. The ‘swerve’ otherwise known as Young Onset Parkinson’s Disease or YOPD changed our lives and priorities overnight. It has made me more present and I cherish the small things.


When I was turning 49, I'd put up with restless legs and severe feet pain for over a year. Over the course of the year I started losing my balance. Watching the kids play soccer or footy would see me stumble five, six, seven times in an hour. When I eventually I saw my GP face to face – we were still living with COVID-19 restrictions – she listened. My GP did some simple tests (literally, touch my finger and then touch your nose!), gently told me something was going on – and started the process.


Eight weeks later I walked into the Hobart movement disorders clinic at the Repat Centre. I went alone, reassuring my husband I was fine. I couldn’t contemplate that my visit would unearth anything serious; two hours later I left with a preliminary diagnosis of Parkinson's Disease. I will never forget that trip home to see my husband. It was the worst day of my life.

Like most people, I thought Parkinson's only affected older people. Yet 20% of people have symptoms before the age of 50, with many diagnosed in their 30s and 40s. This is known as YOPD (see Parkinson’s Australia https://www.parkinsons.org.au/).


Parkinson's is a challenge at any age, but it comes with additional challenges if you are working, raising a family, paying a mortgage, or managing other caring responsibilities. With love, humour, and support, it is manageable - at least so far…


I started this blog because it feels like there is so much to navigate and I want to leave a record for my children. And I hope that by building awareness of YOPD that I can help others who like me, had no idea of what they were facing when they walked into that clinic.


Thank you for reading.


Comments


bottom of page