top of page
sonyaenkelmann

Life after DBS: 8 and a half months on

Hello and welcome to Living with Parky. I haven't posted for a while due to the happiest of reasons - I've been busy living life. Which is more than I dared hope for as an outcome from DBS surgery...


Below is a clip where I talk about what I've noticed over the last few months. I hope it is useful or of interest to you but please remember to always seek your own medical advice. After all, we are living with a custom-built chronic condition and what is my experience may not be yours.


Not far from 9 months ago I went under the knife. Prior to surgery I would have marked on and off periods from the medication; I'd experience awful internal tremors which felt like my body was jingling on the inside. Like my body was having a stress attack but was disconnected and outside of my control. Weekends would see me curled up on the couch, exhausted; chores like a weekly grocery shop would leave me empty. Some days it felt as if a thick and impenetrable fog had settled on my brain. I felt like I was losing myself.


DBS surgery has given me back to myself. I still have Parkinson's. It continues on its destructive course but it is managed and I can live a better life. I'm in a far better place now than I was last June.


DBS is not the be all and end all of treatments. I have restarted medication to supplement my depleted levels of dopamine and have just this week started another medication to assist me with my balance and coordination. However, thanks to DBS surgery, the skill and dedication of my neurologist and neurosurgeon and the support and love of my family and friends, I can be present and enjoy the life I have. And that is a pretty awesome outcome.






247 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

3 Comments


nicklinj
Feb 25, 2023

So lovely to hear life is much better for you Sonya. Keep living life! 😍

Like
Michaela Halton
Michaela Halton
Apr 07, 2023
Replying to

Thanks Sonya,

I'd my DBS in January, definitely life changing.

Glad I did it.

All best from

Like
bottom of page