top of page
sonyaenkelmann

Life post-surgery: hope and getting my mojo back

Hi everyone. It is hard to believe it is just over 4 weeks since I was lying on a trolley waiting to be wheeled in to have someone drill holes in my skull and someone else put electrodes into my brain... I've included a happy snap - xray - of my brain with the electrodes. I love it!



In short, I am astounded how well surgery had gone. I feel well: the internal tremors, the dyskenesia (aka my happy feet), the brain fog and overwhelming fatigue are gone. I'm on no medication for Parkinson's. It is quite incredible. I still experience some nerve pain in my feet (which may have been my first symptom) I am hopeful we can address that. And even if we can't, I am thrilled.


My video post updates on how things are going, a couple of things to note if you are considering surgery and the future. I only wish this surgery is was an option for more people - and able to be accessed sooner for those sitting on the public waiting list. It has made such a difference to my life; it feels obscene so many people are struggling with chronic health conditions longer than they need to because of money.


My family and I will forever be grateful to neurosurgeon Dr Kristian Bulliss and neurologist Dr Wes Thevathasan for bringing me back to myself, for restoring my quality of life, to bringing me hope and buying me time. Thanks also to Siobhan, Kara and Lisa for their support and to psychiatrist Prof Mark Walterfang and anaesthetist Dr Phillipa for their care.



As always, I am only speaking to my experience and it does not mean that it will be the same as anyone else's. I only hope to provide an insight to what it is like from the experience of someone with Parkinson's Disease. Please seek your own advice.


322 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page