top of page
sonyaenkelmann

Taking my health by the horns - Infrared and Near Infrared light therapy and gut health

Updated: Jan 16, 2022


Just about any person living with Parkinson's will talk about the challenges of finding the right mix of medications and interventions to maximise quality of life and prognosis.


Fourteen months on and I'm still finding the right mix of medications and interventions for me. It was however a Parkinson's seminar which left me most frustrated and deflated recently. After a few days I realised why - where was the emerging research, the areas for exploration, the hope? It was then that Parkinson Australia's advice to 'take charge of your health' really hit home. I decided I couldn't sit back and wait.


So, I decided to pull on my big girl pants and I've selected two interventions to start with, which will work with my existing medication regime:

  1. Photobiomodulation or Infrared and Near Infrared Light therapy and

  2. Improving gut health with a focus on antioxidants

Both of these interventions have an evidence base in medical and science journals, and over time I'll add a couple of papers (at the moment I'm totally over reading them!). Neither intervention will cause me harm. It seems to me they are worth a shot.


I'll be running separate blogs on each intervention and I invite you to follow with me. I'm hoping that tracking something from the perspective of a person with lived experience may be useful. I would value your feedback and thoughts - including what else may be worth investigating.

As always, seek your own medical advice. I am no doctor and something that assists me may not be appropriate for you.

336 views14 comments

Recent Posts

See All

14 Comments


Jenny Fairless
Jenny Fairless
Apr 10, 2022

Hi Sonya Coule you tell me where you bought your Infrared and Near Infrared Light therapy from & how much it cost?

Like
sonyaenkelmann
Apr 24, 2022
Replying to

Hi Jenny - good luck with your decision making. Happy for you to send me an email if you want to have a chat. Son

Like

camiksch
camiksch
Nov 09, 2021

Interested in both interventions. I started seeing a functional gp just after dx and started doing infrared saunas about 9 months ago. How's the coronet going?

Like
camiksch
camiksch
Apr 13, 2022
Replying to

It's a fairly difficult experience. I definitely need to lie down when doing it so a 2 person sauna is required in order to do that. Main thing I notice is my skin. Clear, fresh, smooth, renewed. Can only hope its working on my insides as well.

Like

nicklinj
Nov 08, 2021

Always the right way to approach these conditions Sonya. I will let you know if I come across anything.

Like
sonyaenkelmann
Nov 09, 2021
Replying to

Thank you so much - it takes a community not just a village to live a better life. x

Like
bottom of page