top of page
sonyaenkelmann

D-Day for DBS: the L-Dopa Challenge, the Neuro and trying to stay awake in the MRI


Hi everyone. My apologies for the delay in getting this post out. All was going well until I was hit by a giant COVID-shaped curveball. It was bloody awful one too and I'll be happy if I never have to deal with that again. Touch wood.


Before I start, I'd like to acknowledge the photo here from CapturedbyCal. Cal took some family snaps the day before World Parkinson's Day. A 50th gift from friends of ours, Cal donates fees to the Menzies Institute. Thank you Cal. You did yourself proud.


I probably wasn't specific enough in my last clips about the assessment process for DBS so I try to address that this time around. If you have questions or comments, don't hesitate to ask. If I don't know the answer, someone in our Parkinson's community is bound to :). Please remember this is only from my experience and as we all know Parkinson's is custom fit.


In DBS 3: Intro to L-dopa and Neuro I give a quick review of steps to date (atoning for the lack of clarity in my last post) and introduce the next steps.



In DBS 4: L-Dopa challenge, I give a rundown on its purpose and process as I see it, and how I found it.


In the final clip, DBS 5: the Neuro and the MRI touches on the review of the process with the Neuro and getting the MRI. Including one big fat tip about what not to do. A-hem.




Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


Rebecca Barker
Rebecca Barker
May 29, 2022

Son, I could look at that gorgeous photo of you all day. ❤️

Like
sonyaenkelmann
May 29, 2022
Replying to

You are too sweet Bec! Cal was so great taking photos for us.

Like
bottom of page